Confessions of a Wanna-Be Ginger

I’ve always wanted to be ginger. Not full out ginger, since I really do like being blonde, but maybe strawberry-blonde.  Still, I wasn’t ready for a full-time commitment.

About a month ago, I participated in a hair show modelling a product for a large company. They highlighted my hair with  a product that lifts out colour, then put a honey-toned glaze over all my hair that was supposed to make the highlights look natural and sun-kissed.  The immediate results were stunning.  What I found though, was that the honey glaze washed out pretty quickly and left the highlights looking too vivid and dramatic for the soft, sun-kissed look that I like.

I knew there had to be something out there for people with the same problem, so after asking every salon in town, I found this wonderful product.

Capture

It’s a shampoo which adds a color to your hair to adjust the tone, called “Watercolors Color Maintenance & Enhancement Shampoo” by Tressa.

This one, Warm Spice, “spices up the warm, red-golden tones in strawberry blonde and butterscotch shades”.

I wasn’t sure that was what I needed at first, but why not try it? Maybe it would add some red to my hair, but oh well. I’ve always wanted to be more ginger.

Here is the result.

I’m so pleased!

I know it doesn’t seem very red, so I was surprised when people started asking why my hair looked more strawberry.  This product softened the highlights and made them look natural again, and it added just the softest, loveliest hint of ginger tones to my locks!

I would definitely recommend this shampoo to anyone with the same problem OR if you want a temporary glaze of colour but are “not ready for a serious commitment”.  One shampoo lasts about a week and then you can re-assess your relationship status.

Pluses of this product:  *   temporary colour

                                        *  no chemical damage

                                        *   no permanent changes

                                        *   subtle colour enhancement

                                        *   hair feels great and healthy

There are a wide range of colours available in this shampoo, including a lavender shade designed to get rid of those dreaded brassy tones that some people get from colouring.

Where I got it:  For local shoppers, I got this product at the Beauty Supply Outlet on Wellington Street West in Aurora (Ontario) where, I must add, the staff and service were tops!

My mom and I might get a few more colours.  With such freedom to change it up and experiment, why ever not?!

For more hair, beauty and fashion tips, shopping adventures and style experiments, follow me by clicking follow in the bottom right corner or on Instagram @something_cliche

 

 

Categories: Beauty, Get the Look | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Confessions of a Wanna-Be Ginger

  1. cool product, i’ve never heard of it but i bet it would work amazing!! your hair looks gorgeous!
    xo, aiyanajane
    http://www.citystylecountrysmile.com

  2. wow awesome 😉

  3. Being a former ginger (hereditary early gray…but I’m still in that big river in Egypt) and the father of two gingers (two different shades). Your hair looks great.

  4. F. Meingast | Halldóra

    Oh, you’ve achieved a very beautiful hair color with a special kind of hue from the blonde-to-ginger tonal scale! And its texture seems to be so agreeable 😉

  5. I’m also a wannabe ginger ! Except I’m a brunette with light reddish tones in the sun. I use henna to give it a reddish tint in the sun. But they’ve got henna powder for blond hair too, you should check it out, though your hair looks fab in the pictures !

  6. you have beautiful hair, love it ❤

  7. Such gorgeous hair!

  8. I really like your haircolor!!

    XO

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

