Party Dressing: Pretty with an Edge

I am in full-out exam and assignment mode, and am helping my mother prepare for holiday festivities at home, but I cannot neglect sharing my excursions with you as is my implied promise!  So this will be a very quick post to show you a different look that I wore with the dress featured in this recent post.

Last Saturday night was the date of a beautiful birthday party and dinner for a friend at school, held at the lovely King Valley Golf Course clubhouse in King City.  Happy birthday, “B”!!  Some people know how to throw a party, readers!

B's party outfit

For B’s party, I decided to go soft and feminine with this dress.  I switched over to nude pumps and bare legs.  I added this pink cameo-type necklace with the dark grey hematite necklace that you must realize by now is a favourite of mine, since I keep throwing it into every other outfit!  Pale pink or nude, with black and/or dark grey are one of the huge trends for holiday dressing, and also very, very feminine, yet the texture, weight and black leather details of this dress reference business wear and a little edginess as well.  I feel the dress is “ladylike” and that is the perfect note to hit for parties at golf course facilities, IMHO.  I didn’t have a soft and girly purse for this outfit, but adding burgundy to this colour combination makes it a little sultrier and less “sweet”, so I wore this vintage evening bag that I pilfered from my sister, and matched it with OPI nail polish colour “Susie Says Da” (can anyone explain that name?!).

Clutch and necklaces

Dress:  H&M

Shoes: Steve Madden

Cameo Necklace: vintage Holt Renfrew

Purse: Maurizio De Giacomi, from my sister’s closet

Nail colour:  OPI

 

Style Tip #1:  If you wear nude pumps and bare legs, your legs will look miles longer.  

Style Tip # 2:   Edgy WITH “sweet” is a great trend that won’t suffocate your inner feminist in pink fluff.

Check out my previous post on this dress per this link, and tell me:  Which way would you wear the dress?  Which of the two looks do you prefer?

Necklaces

At dinner

To catch my posts as they are published, follow this blog by clicking the button in the right margin, and to see what I’m wearing even faster, follow me on Instagram @something_cliche

Categories: Events, Fashion | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Party Dressing: Pretty with an Edge

  1. fluxnews

    MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR ! 🙂

  2. Love the photo by the tree! Alesia

  3. that dress goes with your hair so well

  4. PASTOR DAVIS/MASTER TEACHER

    May you be blessed with peace, love, joy and the abundances of the Lord’s fruits of prosperity this Christmas Season. We love you and appreciate you for all that you do in helping to build and promote the Kingdom of God here on this earth.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

