Gettin’ “Legal”

Today, my brother turned 19. Here in Ontario where I live, that’s a big deal. My brother didn’t want my mom to visit him the weekend after he was “legal” so we went to London, a major university town, to celebrate my brother’s birthday last Sunday.

At dinner

Cooking ingredients. Mom, look away.

For those readers who live in a different province or country, we turn legal drinking age in Ontario at 19 an it’s almost a requirement to celebrate by indulging.

While visiting, I made an inspection of my brother’s kitchen for . . .

A light dusting of army green shadow over the lids. Why not?

cooking ingredients.

When I go to London I’m never sure how much I’m going to be hanging around with schleppy university students in PJ bottoms, but that isn’t exactly my favorite outfit for dining out. However, when in Rome… Well at least I tried to find a middle ground.

Little known fact: London, Ontario has a significant army base. My combat gear was “in keeping”.  Besides, at times my brother and I enter into combat.

Cargo pants: they always say casual but they are still nice enough to wear for a nice dinner if you dress them up a bit. Lightweight knit graphic sweater. This sweater has a sort of monochromatic forest print on it and a dressier cut than your typical T.  I added my long feather necklace – birds with trees, am I right about the match? 🙂

Long feather necklace

Finishing it off: combat boots. If I’m in camo pants sneaking through the forest with birds, I definitely need combat boots, right? Anyway it was the second day of fall and  definitely getting cooler here in Ontario, so it was the first time I’ve worn my boots this fall.

We went to Moxie’s in London for the birthday dinner, which will be the last time my brother goes anywhere with my mom and can’t get away with ordering a drink on her tab.

Combat boots – Baretraps
Cargo pants – Costa Blanca
Graphic sweater – Forever XXI
Feather necklace – American Eagle

London is a pretty drive away from Toronto in fall

How much do you like to dress up for a casual dinner?

If you liked this post, hit the follow button in the right margin and, as always, follow me on Instagram @something_cliche.

Categories: Fashion, Purely Fashion | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

